Candle making.

I save all the left over wax from used candles – I have no problem re-using it to make more candles what-so ever, even tho’ in some circles it seems to be frowned on… why I don’t know – something to do with mixing spells and intentions… well if you know what you’re doing, you shouldn’t have an residue left over in that way – so lets leave that behind us in the bottom of the wax-pan, along with all the other dross that’s to be chucked out!

First find yourself an old, grotty saucepan – mine came recently from a charity shop, as my old one had been used so much it sprang a leak and dribbled melted wax all over the hob! Which could have been nasty – but I never leave a wax-pan alone when it’s melting…

Candle wax melting in the pan.
Candle wax melting in the pan.

So one of the easiest ways I find to make a candle is to use a container, into which the warm wax is poured, a wick added and the candle burnt in it – the container can be anything you like, as long as it’s heat proof. But that said, sometimes, even then accidents happen – never leave a burning flame unattended…

Heat shattered this glass when the flame had moved too close to the glass - I hadn't noticed until it was too late and a loud *pop* sounded as the glass split! Luckily, no wax escaped!
Heat shattered this glass when the flame had moved too close to the glass – I hadn’t noticed until it was too late and a loud *pop* sounded as the glass split! Luckily, no wax escaped!

I started off years ago making candles in jam jars I’d painted – I’d burn them to strains of the Beatles and tiny amounts of my Mother’s joss sticks – the air would be full of mystery – I still can’t listen to ‘Something’ without those days being rekindled in my memory 🙂

There really was something about the way the candle light moved around that room!

 

So take a grotty old pan, that from now on will only be used for wax, and over a low heat begin to melt it – in the mean time take your chosen container and with a little oil and tissue, lightly oil where the wax will go – this is for ease of release, should any wax remain un-burnt – or you could use hot water to release it if needed.

1-IMG_1198

Having poured the wax carefully in – leave to cool as you prepare the wick.

1-IMG_1196

I recycle the little metal discs the wick sits in too – tho’ you can buy these on ebay, which is where I buy the wick from; thank the Gods for ebay eh!

1-IMG_1195

Just poke the wick through the disc and tie a knot in the bottom – it can be fiddly, and so annoying for the wick to slip out! Hence the knot.

1-IMG_1193

Then dip the wick into the wax a couple of times, leaving it to dry as straight as you can inbetween, as I find it helps the wick to sit in the wax later, as the wax cools. Then when the wax shows signs of solidifying pop the wick in and prop up with a cocktail stick or something similar – leave to cool completely.

1-IMG_1192

Once cooled it’s ready to use 🙂 The wax has turned from red to cool pink and I must say looks pretty good – would you guess it’s old wax reused? No – nor me…

 

1-IMG_1190

Remember that hot wax is dangerous and can burn!

Be sensible, be careful and all will be well!

 

You are very welcome to leave a comment if you wish.

